Christmas Memories

What I love about Christmas is hanging the ornaments on the tree and reminiscing about memories from childhood and my adult life. This year I’m not going to unpack the ornaments and hang them on the tree, because for the first time in my thirty-two years, we aren’t getting a Christmas tree. Needless to say, it’s been a little hard to get into the Christmas spirit, since hanging the ornaments is something that I enjoy the most about the season.  While I may not have a Christmas tree and ornaments to reflect upon years past, there are so many other pieces in my decor that remind me of  happy and festive holiday seasons.

Christmas is my favorite holiday, after all it is the most wonderful time of the year! I hope you enjoy some of my Christmas memories. Merry Christmas to you all!

Christmas Garland

In lieu of a Christmas tree, I decided to hand pre-lit garland around our picture window in our living room and a pine cone and berry wreathe in the center.

Pottery Barn hand painted snowman pillow and Josh’s quiet time quilt. The quiet time quilts are handmade flannel quilts made by mom, a master quilter.

Another handmade creation by my mom, a beautifully quilted tree skirt. This year I used my tree skirt as a centerpiece on my kitchen table, and placed a vase filled with cinnamon scented pine cones, gold, silver and red ornaments in the center (on top of the hole which  the tree trunk normally would be).

My Christmas village is my second favorite part of my holiday decor. My village consists of new pieces and vintage ceramic pieces that my grandmother hand painted.

One of the first pieces that I received to start my village after we got married was the jewelry store with the young man proposing. Off to the right is Josh’s Piano Shop and to the left is a ceramic tree that my grandmother hand painted.

Leave a Reply

