They don’t make ’em like that anymore

Etta James, the legendary, soulful blues singer passed away today. She’s most famous for the song, At Last which is a widely popular choice among couples as their first dance song. However, I remember this song from a classic movie, Father of the Bride, Part II.

Which brings me to my point, they don’t make movies like this anymore. Classic, feel good, happy, romantic, sweet, lovely movies. I was just saying to my FSIL (favorite sister-in-law) the other day that there really should be a channel solely for 80’s, 90’s and early 2000’s romantic chick flicks. I’m not talking the Lifetime Network here people, I mean legitimate, at one time in the theater movies. I’d never again say, “There’s nothing to watch on TV!” So, I’m going to help the networks by starting a list of movies that I think they should include on this all-chick flick channel.

  1. Father of the Bride
  2. Father of the Bride, Part II
  3. You’ve Got Mail
  4. Pretty Woman
  5. Serendipity
  6. The Holiday
  7. Sleepless in Seattle
  8. Titanic
  9. Ghost
  10. Under the Tuscan Sun
  11. Notting Hill
  12. When Harry Met Sally
  13. Dirty Dancing
  14. Footloose
  15. Runaway Bride
  16. The Wedding Planner
  17. A League of Their Own
  18. While You Were Sleeping
  19. Steel Magnolias
  20. Love Actually
  21. Must Love Dogs
  22. Thelma & Louise

So what have I missed? What are your favorites that aren’t on my list?

2 thoughts on “They don’t make ’em like that anymore

Leave a Reply

