BAKE!


Well hello Lovelies! Oh how I’ve missed you all the past couple of weeks. Y’all know that I often talk about my BAKE (Best Aunt Kathy Ever) here on Geaux Girlie, most recently I told you about an upcoming visit with BAKE and my entire family, here. Well, my life was turned upside down and inside out two weeks ago, when very suddenly and unexpectedly my BAKE was called home to be with our Lord and Savior.

I want to share with you a favorite memory of my aunt and tell you how we came to call her BAKE.

Born Kathy, she held many names during her lifetime. Child of God, daughter, sister, grand daughter, wife, mother, daughter-in-law, cousin and friend. She was nicknamed, Katrock to many, but to us she was BAKE. A name that is so fitting because my aunt loved to bake, it’s what she was known for amongst her friends and family. You see, my aunt was one of the most generous and giving people that I’ve ever known. A couple of years ago she sent my niece, Audrey a blue PSP game console for her birthday. This wasn’t just any blue, it was Audrey’s favorite color, electric blue! In sheer excitement, Audrey called Aunt Kathy and blurted out in pure joy that only a child can, “YOU’RE THE BEST AUNT KATHY EVER!” She loved to tell this story, it made her so happy and proud.

Last week at my aunt’s funeral the hymn we sang as the paulbearers took my aunt out of the church was “How Great Thou Art”. A hymn that on any regular day will bring me to tears, but on this day brought me combined tears of heartbreak and joy. Two weeks later I find myself humming what Aunt Kathy would have called the “song de jour” and keep coming back to my favorite part of the hymn:

When Christ shall come
With shout of acclamation
And take me home
What joy shall fill my heart
Then I shall bow
With humble adoration
And then proclaim My God
How great thou art

Watch this incredible version of this beautiful hymn sung by Carrie Underwood and Vince Gill.

From left to right: My mother and Aunt Kathy’s only sister, BAKE, me and my lovely sister down front. God blessed us with one last day together as a family to celebrate BAKE’s 60th birthday; just a week and half before she went home to Heaven.

She often told me that she wanted to be the best aunt she could be. Mission accomplished, well done. I stand today moved by her, inspired by her and forever loved by her. Rest sweetly BAKE, until we see each other again. XOXO!

One thought on “BAKE!

  1. Pingback: Time On My Mind « geauxgirlie

Leave a Reply

