It’s a bird, it’s a plane … it’s a space shuttle?!

One of the perks of living in the Washington, DC metro area is that we really are blessed with some pretty cool sights. Today was one for the record books though. The space shuttle Discovery is retiring to the Smithsonian’s Udvar Hazey Air & Space Museum in Northern Virginia. The shuttle arrived in our nation’s capital in style this morning, atop a Beoing 747! That’s right people, a space shuttle on top of an airplane!

I was lucky enough to be on the road when the shuttle made its descent into Dulles International Airport and snapped this picture and video just before landing.  Incredibly isn’t it?!

From the top of the parking garage at my office, a coworker took this picture.

Do you live in the DC metro area?  Where did you spot the shuttle today?

3 thoughts on “It’s a bird, it’s a plane … it’s a space shuttle?!

  1. I felt blessed to have been able to witness it myself yesterday. Especially on a day when I was cursing the DC traffic on my commute in, and wondering why in the world I put up with this crap. Seeing the shuttle reminded me to be thankful for all the wonderful things at my fingertips in this city. I see the Capitol dome, the Washington Monument, Nationals Park and Marine One daily. I need to stop taking it all for granted!

    • Yes, traffic was terrible yesterday. Every time I go downtown, I’m just in awe of the city, people, on-goings, etc. It’s pretty incredible to live near the most powerful city in the world, right?! I’m slightly jealous of your daily views of the city, although I wouldn’t want to commute into the city. 🙂

      Have a great day and enjoy the views!

Leave a Reply

