Bathroom Remodel Update

J started the master bath remodel this week. Here’s what we’ve purchased so far and the color scheme we are going for in the space.

Now for the good, bad and ugly details of our progress…

Day 1 :: Continue the ever expensive search for a bathroom faucet. I mean seriously I never knew that faucets could be so incredibly expensive. AND did you know that the models that they sell at the big box stores, think Home Depot and Lowes are made with plastic parts on the inside that will cause leaks relatively quickly? Well I didn’t know this and perhaps it’s the sales person blowing smoke up my arse but I believed him. And well my momma and momma-in-law said the same thing and that’s pretty much gospel to me.

Day 2 :: Failed at running out to Benjamin Moore at lunch to look at paint colors. J lugged all of my our bathroom crap belongings to the guest bedroom, started demo by hauling out the current vanity, removing all of the fixtures and mirrors and began pulling up the current crappy-smappy linoleum floors. Finally committed and ordered faucets, after negotiating a relatively decent price…considering. And that’s where the progress halted, because J found mold on the floor near the shower. DAMN YOU Beazer builders! You see our neighbors ran into this issue months ago and we “knew” that likely we could have the same problem.  Confirmed yesterday.

Day 3 :: Lined up contractors to come and give us an estimate on the work to fix the shower leak. J doesn’t want to take on this task and for our own sanity we’d rather pay the $$ to have someone else get it done in a day or so. Problem though is that the contractors apparently have other jobs and my bathroom reno isn’t their top priority so they aren’t coming until end of week or Monday. Don’t they know that I’m impatient and on a schedule since J is off this week? J continued to pull up the crappy-smappy linoleum and make what progress he can while waiting for contractors to come.

Y’all progress is being made, but just at a slower pace than I would have liked. But isn’t that the truth with all constructions and renovation projects. I couldn’t be happier to have the best honey in the world who is uber handy and willing to tackle this project.  Love ya’!

Oh and apparently we are handing out money to anyone who says anything having to do with a master bathroom renovation. So hit me up if you too would like a share of my wallet.  Just say the word…bathroom, faucet, demo, leak, mold, whatev and it’s yours.  HA!  Kidding, I’m not giving away anymore money unless you can be at my house tomorrow at 8AM to fix the shower.

8 thoughts on “Bathroom Remodel Update

  1. If you are going to install two sinks where one used to be check the alignment of the new plumbing with the existing connecting point in the wall before you attach the vanity. It will save a lot of grief.

    • Thanks for the tip. We are replacing a duel vanity in the master bath…so I think we are okay to some degree. Now whether or not we need to adjust the piping to account for the new height of the vanity and for the fact that it’s an antique dress that I’ll leave up to my contractor hubby. I do know that the lighting comes through one hole in the wall and we’ll have to split it for duel sconces above each mirror. Thanks again for the tip, for stopping by and commenting!

  2. Pingback: 100th Post « geauxgirlie

  3. Pingback: Bathroom Remodel – The Needle is Moving « geauxgirlie

Leave a Reply

